Life lessons from 1992

​In 1992, after much goading from my parents to be participatory, I finally put my name down for a marble and spoon race at school. Seemed like something that could be done by being slow and without much exertion, a combination I still strongly endorse.

Anyway, so the whistle blew and the race was off and I was doing really well. As my fellow competitors lost their marbles and dropped off along the way, I chugged along. 

Finally, with the end in sight I looked down only to realise I had dropped my marble somewhere along the way. The race had been over for me quite a while back, it seemed.

And if this is not an apt metaphor of adult life, I don’t know what is. 😐

~ by Shakeel Sobhan on January 10, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
