Knowledge at my doorstep. (And I said no!)

Today is an unusually hot evening, and I was tossing and turning on the bed when I heard a tepid knock. Two book sellers awaited me with a Nat Geo books about facts. Asked me if I knew the most spoken language. I replied Mandarin. One of them opens to the page, confirms answer, looks at me straight in the eyes and said – “how do you know?” This could only go downhill from here, I realised.

Anyway, they proceeded to present another book, an illustrated dictionary, pointing out the human brain – as illustrated – weighs1.4 kgs. I wondered if mine could be smaller, I do keep forgetting stuff.

Third up is a book about inventions – “did you know internet came about in 1969?” I didn’t.

And then finally the last one is a Oxford collection of English language references, four of them. I was told that I would need them to communicate.

The point is, by now I had four fat books in my hands and two persistent salesmen who were extolling the virtues of the books. Unsaid was the fact that each of the books was about 5 kgs so I’m effectively holding up 20 kgs, crying silently inside, and promising myself I’m starting weight-training “soon”.

Anyway, on being informed that I can neither carry the books nor would have the inclination to after I workout for a year, the salesmen parted with the words that Pankaj, who lives on the floor below mine (no idea who he is), bought two sets and that Pankaj would “now have more knowledge” than me.

So, now I’m back on my bed, tossing and turning, except that now I fear that Pankaj with more knowledge than me.

Life is hard.

~ by Shakeel Sobhan on April 4, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
